top of page

cdgspotter.com

-Aviation photographer blog-

Rechercher
  • Photo du rédacteurAurélien FINOT

Tutorial #1 : My tips for aviation photography on Instagram.

In this article I try to give you some tips to improve your shots, the quality of your Instagram page and the spotting session.


Tip 1 : Think you're going to crop the photo in 1:1.

Indeed, on Instagram you have two ratios for your photo :

- 1:1 ratio

- 4:5 ratio

I always crop my photos in 1:1 to standardize and display the entire picture on my feed.

Tip 2 : Wake up early !

In my opinion, the best light is sunrise. So you have to wake up early.

Moreover, morning is the best to catch heavy arrivals.

Pictures took during sunrise.


Tip 3: Prefer the quality of your picture rather than the edit.

The quality of Instagram's picture is not very good. As a consequence, your image must have a good quality before uploading it to Instagram.

However, quality goes with edit. If you edit your picture too much, a loss of quality could appear.

I always add a bit of sharpness before uploading my photo.


Tip 4 : Don't underexposed or overexposed your photo.

I have a big fault, I always try to brighten as much as I can my photo. Sometimes the finish is good, but most of the time I lost too much quality.

Be careful to the exposure of your photo. Don't forget that you have to catch the attentions of your followers. Your profile must be attractive.


You have to level up the exposure a bit and the photo is perfect.

The second image is brighter and more attractive.


Tip 5 : Try to keep the same style on your feed.

You have to invent a way to edit your photo in order to get your style. Of course, you could draw your inspiration from other photographer. But don't forget that your Instagram page must be unique.



Tip 6 : Know your airport and plan your day.

You have to know every nooks of your airport in order to be able to reach it as fast as possible. Don't be afraid of looking for unknown spotting locations but stay in the rules. I found many spotting locations myself.

Planning your day is inevitable. In Paris CDG you have to plan your day.

For example, I know from 6h00 to 8h00 it's arrival time for many airlines (Air France, Thai, Air Canada,Etihad, United, Delta,..). Then, at this moment I will be on the arrival runways, etc.. ! At the same time you have to plan your day with the sunlight, be careful with back light.


Tip 7 : Look for different angles.

You don't have to be focused on having the entire plane, you should look for different angles to vary your content.

For example, here my rush pictures of 350 Cathay :

You can see I shooted with very differents angles ( Zoom in, zoom out).

Another example , 350 MK :

I shooted in portrait and landscape mode, closer and far to get different angles.


Tip 8 : Use a ladder.

In many airports, you're under the level of the runway, taxiway or there is wire fence.

Nothing is worse that a picture below the level of the runway.


414 vues0 commentaire

Commenti


bottom of page